Why read the marrow?

The Marrow of Modern Divinity. It’s been in my ‘to read’ pile for a few years now. This seems a good  time to work through it, with some thoughts and musings of others.

It’s had a remarkable place in the history of the Scottish Church. And a year or so ago Christian Focus brought out a wonderfully re-typeset edition, which makes it even more valuable as it is now able to be navigated by any reader.

Why read it, you ask? This is from Fisher’s forward:

O sir, if the truths contained in this dialogue were but as much in my heart, as they are in my head, I were a happy man; for then should I be more free from pride, vain glory, wrath, anger, self-love, and love of the world, than I am; and then should I have more humility, meekness, and love, both to God and man, than I have. Oh! then should I be content with Christ alone, and live above all things in the world.

If you want a head start and an historical context to set it in, I can do no better than recommend Sinclair Ferguson’s essential lectures on the marrow. Worth listening to each year. (It is in 3 parts: part 1, part 2, and part 3 – unfortunately the audio is poor. You can also purchase them from Westminster Seminary – not sure the audio quality of these)

One Response to “Why read the marrow?”

  1. The law: legalism or antinomianism « knoxville Says:

    […] Now back to The Marrow of Modern Divinity. […]

Leave a Reply

